Equality and Diversity

Our CCGs consistently review equality, diversity and inclusion legislation and requirements when we commission, buy, design and monitor deliver services. We do make sure we consider the different needs of all the people in our workforce and our local communities with support from our patient groups and the wider communities.

Protected characteristics:

The Equality Act (2010) identifies nine ‘protected characteristic’ groups that organisations need to consider when commissioning and providing a public service:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Sex (Gender) 
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership (in respect of eliminating unlawful discrimination)
  • Pregnancy and Maternity
  • Race – this includes ethnic or national origins, colour or nationality
  • Religion or Belief – this includes lack of belief
  • Sexual orientation


Legal compliance and national requirements:

The CCGs are required to publish information about our legal compliance national requirements:


NHS England Standards

Equality Delivery System 2 (EDS):

The Equality Delivery System (EDS) helps NHS organisations to demonstrate ‘due regard’ and improve the services they provide for their local communities as well as improving working environments for all. EDS 2 focuses on better health outcomes for local communities, access and experience, being a representative and supported workforce and inclusive leadership. Our CCGs undertake independent grading with the support of our patient groups and Healthwatch Lancashire for patient focused goals and outcomes and a workforce and Board members through a survey and grading panel for our workforce and leadership goals and outcomes. This is reported on an annual basis in the Equality Annual Report.


Accessible Information Standard (AIS):

All NHS organisations that provide healthcare or publicly-funded adult social care services are legally required to meet the Accessible Information Standard (AIS). This means when we provide information or communicate with people we make sure they can understand what we are telling them so that they can make an informed decision. This Standard specifically relates to disability.


Modern Day Slavery Act (2015):

This Act requires all public authorities to work with the Police Commissioner and other local services to support people who have experienced slavery. Our CCGs have a zero tolerance for modern day slavery. We deliver this requirement through our safeguarding team in line with the business practices and processes we have developed with the wider partners.


Sexual Orientation Monitoring Information Standard (SOM) (2017):

The SOM requires all health services and publicly-funded adult social care services to provide information on the sexual orientation of both our workforce and our patients, who are aged 16 or over. Our CCGs require our provider services to give us assurance that there are equitable services for people who identify as lesbian, gay or bisexual compared to heterosexual and there is an increased understanding of the impact of health inequalities for LGB local populations.


Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES):

All NHS provider organisations need to meet the Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES) this includes independent organisations that have an NHS standard contract. This standard relates to disability. Our CCGs are not yet required to provide a WDES submission. However, we have reviewed the draft metrics and provided feedback to the Equality and Diversity Council.

To learn more about how we ensure the information we produce is accessible, visit our Accessible Standard Statement

For more information on how we embed equality and diversity into the organisation through our organisational policies


Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES):

All NHS organisations need to meet the Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES) this includes independent organisations that have an NHS standard contract. This means that WRES supports organisations to identify if any employees who represent a Black, Asian or ethnic origin (BAME) are receiving fair treatment in the workplace.

This Standard specifically relates to race. Our CCGs have submitted our WRES to NHS England and monitored our main providers since 2015.


Local Standards

Lancashire LGBT:

Lancashire LGBT is a registered charity working across Lancashire for Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) people. They support LGBT people to be happier, healthier and well connected.by helping organisations to identify and address concerns that relate to sexual orientation or gender identity.


Equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) and patient satisfaction:

Studies show that a motivated, included and valued workforce helps deliver high quality patient care, increased patient satisfaction and better patient safety. EDI helps organisations to become employees of choice and improve patient care and satisfaction. Highlighting the need to treat the workforce fairly and give them equal opportunities.

You can view the Equality Annual Report* in our document store. 

*Please note, this document is currently being refreshed.